The Seven Stages of Grief:
Anger over illness

Continues from The Seven Stages of Grief - Stage 1: Denial.

Contents for this Article on Coping with Anger About Illness:

  • Illness and anger
  • It's OK to feel angry
  • Am I allowed to feel angry?

The Seven Stages of Acceptance and Grief: Stage 2

Illness and Anger

You can feel anger over illness:

You may feel anger about any of the losses that can accompany illness, such as the loss of a relationship or the loss of your self image.
“I don't deserve this.”
“But I have worked so hard only to lose everything.”

You may feel anger that you do not receive understanding.
“Why don't they understand I am ill? ”
“Don't they know how ill I feel? ”
“Don't they know how hard I try? ”

You may feel anger that you can't get treatment for the illness.
“Why can't I get the treatment I need? ”

“I can't get the help I need to rest and recover.“

This article on the 7 stages of grief in chronic illness is NOW included in a FREE ebook.
The book includes additional information which helps you to be gentle with yourself in a time of illness.

The link above and the cover below take you to visit my healing website where you can collect your FREE copy of the book.

It’s OK To Feel Angry

Many of us tend to think of anger as not OK. But anger can be a useful step forward in the seven stages of grief. We move from the numbness of denial to a willingness to fight.

A sense of injustice can make us determined not to give in:
We are not going to let this or them beat us. We are going to keep fighting.

I have heard it said:
“If you feel pain, you know you are still alive.”

If you are angry, you are feeling pain.
Well done. You are still alive.

To learn to feel my anger and other feelings, I developed a simple but powerful technique called The Release

Many years later I wrote the book: Releasing Judgment – Forgiveness Exercises for Self Acceptance and Inner Peace.

Please feel free to download this ebook, FREE from this website. Just enter your email address in the box below.

To receive
FREE ebook
Releasing Judgement

Or to keep in touch with

Am I Allowed To Feel Angry?

If you feel angry, right now, give yourself some space on your own and allow yourself to feel it.

Allowing anger doesn't mean that you will necessarily tell someone that you feel angry with them.

It is a private commitment to be a friend to yourself who says:

“With me, it is OK to feel angry.
I love you when you feel angry.
I love you when you feel calm.
I love you however you feel.”

Anger illness

But is it wrong to feel angry about this?

Feeling anger does not involve making a judgement about whether you are right or wrong about what you feel angry about.

When you are trying to work out if you are wrong or right, your mind can get busy and unhappy.

Take the first step of accepting your anger.

Let yourself feel it.

Find a safe and private place and feel this anger.

Let it be.

Let it pass.

Move from The Seven Stages Of Grief: Anger to the next article Bargaining

For How to cope with feelings of anger, move to Motivational Poems – I See And I Accept Where I am Now.

A list of all the articles on The Seven Stages of Grief on this website.

If you enjoyed this page, please click to share it with others.

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

Receive daily inspiration...

Receive daily inspiration by putting
your favorite (favourite) quote on
an item you see daily around your home-
a mug, cushion, postcard, coaster, T shirt etc.
You will find my zazzle gift store at (USA)

Use one of my designs or start from a blank. (UK)

Thank you so much for supporting this website

Advert for personalised gifts with a spiritual or healing theme

My name is Katherine Owen.
Please respect my copyright as the author of this website.
I am delighted if you choose to share on social media, but please do NOT reproduce any of the contents of this page without permission.
© Katherine T Owen

Free forgiveness ebook

To receive
Releasing Judgment,
a FREE ebook

or to keep in touch...

Please be assured - I will NOT pass on your e-mail address to anyone else.

Be Loved

15 Spiritual Love Poems
God Love Self Love

(by the author of

For 14 years, Katherine T Owen was severely disabled with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis, unable to walk, with little speech, and with inadequate care.

Katherine's small beautiful collection of poems take the reader with her as she journeys to know both self love and
God's love.

Be Loved Beloved. Cover for Kindle book of spiritual love poems.

If you don't have a kindle, you can download FREE software to read the kindle book on your computer.

Buy the paperback on Lulu

Click to preview or BUY
Be Loved Beloved

"One thing that struck me was the stripping of ego in the work. Most of us have a comfy ego façade, but weakness and disease tore Katherine’s away. The poems in Be Loved Beloved come from the heart."

Dana Taylor, Author of Ever-Flowing Streams: Tapping into Healing Energy

What's New?

  1. Psalm 91 Prayer For Protection In Hard Times

    psalm 91
    I prayed the Psalm 91 prayer for protection in hard times, for strength. Words of. Interpretation. What is the meaning of this psalm? Adapted version.

    Read More

  2. Jesus Christ Crucifixion Poem– Crown of thorns, Carrying the cross

    Easter Jesus.powerful poem. Scourging at the pillar, crown of thorns. Jesus carries the cross. Jesus Christ crucifixion. Based on St Matthew’s gospel.

    Read More